RSAB

What is RSAB?

The Regional Sustainability Alliance Ballarat is a network of organisations from the public, private and nonprofit spheres that is taking a leading role in moving the region towards sustainability.

Why was it set up?

These organisations united to take advantage of an opportunity to help the community learn to live sustainably. They jointly applied for and received funding from the state government’s EcoLiving Grants Program. The funding is for the creation of an EcoLiving Ballarat Learning Network that will demonstrate, through community centres, how to live and work sustainably.

The group decided that there were many more ways to promote their vision of a sustainable Ballarat region where people lived well, but within the limits of the available resources. They decided to formalise their partnership by creating RSA Ballarat. The alliance will ensure strong collaboration between all of the organisations wanting to move the region towards sustainability.

What is our focus?

The Ballarat region is home to areas of natural beauty, productive farmland, and diverse landscapes. But the environment has suffered over time. While much has been done to repair the damage, key challenges remain. The community must protect its precious water supplies, use energy more efficiently, and reduce its reliance on the fossil fuels that cause climate change. It must also do more to safeguard and restore the biodiversity that is both essential for our existence and intrinsically valuable in its own right.

In the face of these challenges, the alliance explored alternative scenarios for the future. From a set of three scenarios for the Ballarat region in 2020, the group chose one – where the environment is repaired to the point where more carbon is absorbed than emitted, leading to regional prosperity.

To realise this ideal future, RSA Ballarat has identified four key directions that will guide its work:

  • Developing renewable energy opportunities: Community-owned models and farm scale projects, starting with a focus on bioenergy;
  • Sustainable industry: Big businesses represent a sizeable part of Ballarat’s energy and water use;
  • Sustainable living: Sustainable goods and services, with less consumption, eases pressure on natural resources; and
  • Natural resource management: Water, soil, minerals and biodiversity must be better protected to improve natural landscapes.

 

Contact

Ian Rossiter, Chair: ianrossiter@tpg.com.au 

RSAB Membership

Name Organisation Email
Ray Draper Ballarat Environment Network (BEN)
raydraper2004@gmail.com
Belinda Coates City of Ballarat and CVGA belindacoates@ballarat.vic.gov.au
Brendan Clarke Central Highlands Water bclarke@chw.net.au
Cherie Draper Ballarat Environment Network silverswan2008@gmail.com
Craig Hurley NCS-Federation Uni c.hurley@federation.edu.au 
Dale Smithyman Golden Plains Shire dsmithyman@gplains.vic.gov.au
Hazen Cleary PLEA Network hmc433@hotmail.com
Ian Rossiter BREAZE ian@breaze.org.au
Laurel Freeland SHARE & Federation University Australia l.freeland@federation.edu.au
Lauren Malins City of Ballarat laurenmalins@ballarat.vic.gov.au
Melanie Tranter CVGA eo@cvga.org.au
Nick McKinley Leigh Catchment Group leighcg@ncable.net.au
Peter Gell Federation University p.gell@federation.edu.au
Quenton Gay City of Ballarat quentongay@ballarat.vic.gov.au
Rosemary Angus Grampians Central West Waste Resource Recovery rosemary.angus@gcwwrrg.vic.gov.au
Ross Gillett DELWP ross.gillett@delwp.vic.gov.au
Ross Irving Sustainability Victoria ross.irving@sustainability.vic.gov.au
Melanie Robertson Committee for Ballarat ceo@committeeforballarat.com
Jo Cameron Cultivate Agribusiness Central Highlands  jo.cameron@cultivate.org.au
Liz Hamilton Victorian Bioenergy Network Liz.Hamilton@ecodev.vic.gov.au

 

RSAB Minutes & Reports

RSAB Minutes 24 May 2016

RSAB Minutes 27 Jan 2016

RSAB Submission to BCC Draft Emissions Management Action Plan

RSAB Minutes 18 Aug 2015

RSAB Minutes 16 June 2015

RSAB Minutes 21 April 2015

RSAB Minutes 24 Feb 2015

RSAB Minutes 9 Dec 2014

Report to RSAB Sustainability Indicator Initial Findings April 2014

RSAB Feedback Report – CoB Environment Docs 5-3-14